QUOTED!: I Finally Get to Say I’m a Quote Whore…in Sweden?

Regardless if they admit it or not, one of the cool parts on being a film critic is when they use your pull quote in press materials (DVD covers, posters, etc.). When that happens, it feels like you really made it or at least someone out there besides your immediate family is reading the stuff you work so tirelessly on. Although I can’t really consider myself a real-life professional film critic quite yet, I’ve got a ton of more work to do in order to turn what I write into something that isn’t insulting to the eyes, I can at least say I’ve fired the opening salvo into my potential critic whore-dom. And I did, weirdly enough, in Sweden.

A little backstory: back in March, I got the opportunity to help cover the South by Southwest Film Festival in Austin, TX for The Film Stage. Besides falling in love with the city and for some reason the Pita Pit, I also got around to watching a ton of movies. One of them was Hesher, which had been playing the festival circuit for a year before finally getting distribution. I had heard a lot about it and wanted to check it out for myself, missing an Attack the Block screening in the process (a move I somewhat regret since everyone I know/follow on Twitter won’t shut their mouths about how good it is). And as it turns out, I…kind of dug it. I mean it was funny and it was definitely sad, but mixing it together didn’t work as well for me as it did for others.

Still I must have said something meaningful, because a quote was used. Here it is scanned from the Swedish magazine it was printed in:

Mine is the fourth from the top, or right smack dab in the middle if you really want to get technical (you don’t, honky). As you can see, it’s written in Swedish (wonder why…) but it got translated by my boss Jordan Raup as saying:

When it’s funny, it’s really funny, and when it’s sad, it’ll make you tear up.

Admittedly a little tacky, but that’s just how I roll. I know it is pretty egotistical or I guess stupid to get excited about something like this, but seeing as a) this is my first real pull quote and b) I use this site to whore how “awesome” I am, I see no harm in it. It is pretty freakin’ exciting though; feels like something I’ve worked so hard at is paying off and such.

If any more quotes from yours truly show up, they will be posted here but probably with less writing about it. I got overzealous this time. Who knows, there may come a day where I can challenge Shawn Edwards and Pete Hammond as the king of whores over at Criticwatch. Okay on second thought, that is a terrible idea.

Read the Hesher review this quote was taken from over at The Film Stage!

Leave a Reply

